It Was Not Fake, Though

At my job, I have the cool responsibility of booking local bands and musicians to play on the weekends. We have a lot of different and talented musicians play, from solo guitarists who play the local bar circuits, to a band of retired musicians that play together for fun, to students from the local school for performing arts. Sometimes I seek these performers out, and sometimes they find me first.

Today I got a call from a musician who wanted to play this coming weekend. I asked him, as I typically do, if he had a website or any music samples he could send over so we could get to know his music.

He said, “Oh, no. I do have e-mail, I just got it, but I don’t have a fancy website or anything. I can burn a cd for you.”

I said, “Sure, that’s fine. I can e-mail you the application form, and we would be happy to listen to your cd.”

He said, “My e-mail is for real, though!”

“Okay…” I mean, I believed him. I never really doubted him at any point in time.

He said, “It’s spelled f-o-r-r-e-a-l-t-h-o-e, at [e-mail provider] dot net.”

“…For real th-” I said, “Oh! I get it.” He was silent.

He had a hard time describing his music to me when I asked. The main talking points I gleaned from the long and winding description were:

  • 5 piece band
  • style: a mixture of hip hop, r&b, and reggae
  • loud drums
  • confetti

He hesitated to explain the purpose of the confetti, saying that he wanted it to be a surprise. I told him thank you, but we’re not really big on surprises around here. Part of me really wants to watch this confetti-laden train wreck, though. Maybe I will let him play at my house. Let me know if you want to come over.

About Allison Anarchy

I write because I have to
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It Was Not Fake, Though

  1. SusieM says:

    Life needs more confetti…forrealtho!

  2. matt says:

    I’m in. For real. Though.

  3. Michael says:

    Please add me to the email list for when you hire them to play at your house.

Leave a comment

