Pancreas-Kicked into a Corner

One of my doctors came into the employee locker room at the end of today and asked me, “Are you okay?”

I said, “Yeah, why?”

She said, “Well, you’re kinda curled up on the floor in a corner all by yourself.”

I considered that point of view and realized that I probably looked like I was having a really bad day. “My blood sugar is low. The floor seemed like a good idea a few minutes ago when there was less glucose flowing in my brain. I’m feeling better, I’m just going to sit for a minute to make sure I don’t need to eat anything else.”

“Does anyone know you’re in here?” she asked.

“You do.”

“Wonderful. I’m going to go tell someone you’re here before I go.”

“I really am ok. I do this a lot,” I said. I forgot to eat an afternoon snack, so I ended up on the floor of a room almost no one goes in. Who hasn’t done that? Eventually I got up off the floor and drove home, where I almost immediately fell asleep before I remembered that I hadn’t posted anything today yet. This was the most exciting thing that happened all day long. Unless you think drawing blood and cleaning poop is exciting. I live a life of glamour.

my view from my hypoglycemic corner of the floor in the locker room

my view from my hypoglycemic corner of the floor in the locker room

About Allison Anarchy

I write because I have to
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

