Game On

If you’ve ever played a board game with me, you know that I am a very competitive person who doesn’t lose gracefully. Just ask my husband who refuses to play Jenga with me anymore.

I am also very competitive with my brother. Who isn’t competitive with their siblings? My brother is ten years older than I am so as a kid I had a lot of work to do in order to keep up. If he casually mentioned a band he liked, I had to memorize every song in case the band came up in conversation again. He was an Olympic trial level swimmer, so I had to join a swim team and spend three hours a day pretending I was also Olympic bound (I did this for about 10 years and never made higher than B team). I learned to speak passable French, he learned to speak fluent Spanish and spent a month in Spain, and I cried (because he won that one).

So when my incredibly intelligent, articulate, insightful brother started a new blog a few days ago with the goal of updating every day for a year, I looked at my neglected blog and decided that I did not want to be outdone. I have given myself the goal of posting on this blog every day for the month of February (and a little of March since February already started without a new post). Yes I am competitive, but I don’t want to set myself up for failure.

I don’t yet know what I will be writing about each day. I figure that writing anything consistently will be good for my soul (and my chances to win…). I do know that I will take and post a photo every day and write something that relates to that picture. Today’s photo was taken a few days ago, but it relates well to this post.

Here’s to a month of daily writing! See you again soon.

IMAG5292

the Jenga tower of power, back when my husband would still play with me

About Allison Anarchy

I write because I have to
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

