31 Days of Happy

Since March’s Victory Month was such a smashing success, I’ve decided to start another theme for the month of July. In July, to directly insult the depression and anxiety, I have decided to celebrate happy things.  They exist around me every day even though my brain tends to lure and trap the negatives. I feel like I need to train my brain to look to the lighter side of life.

Yes, I intended to start this yesterday on the official month’s beginning, but posting every day is not in the cards for me right now. As often as I am able, though, I will post about something that currently makes me happy, even if it’s not obvious to me at the end of the day.

Today, what bring me so much daily happiness and joy that it will cover any days that I miss a blog post are these faces:

IMAG4308-1

There is no one in the world who will ever be happier to see me when I come home, happier just to be with me whether we’re running a 5k or sitting on the couch staring at the TV, happier for the once in a lifetime-can it really be true-kill me now it can’t get better than this…dog treat?! …new toy?! …old toy?! …trip to the garage?! Literally whatever is happening to them at any given moment is the best moment of their lives…as long as I’m nearby.

Sure, the little one ate the window sills and the carpet out of my apartment when she was a baby, and the bigger one spent the first year of our lives together having panic attacks and stress diarrhea in his crate. And yeah, they both have to poop in the next door neighbor’s yard every time we visit my parents. And so what if the little one farts so much that I’m now immune to all smells of any kind. I love them with a depth only fellow dog lovers can understand, and I wouldn’t trade them for anything in the world.

I could go on and get all gushy and sentimental, but I feel like that would be the equivalent of a stranger showing you 20 pictures of their baby and not leaving you alone until you have matched their level of excitement. So I’ll leave it at that. If you would like to know more about my dog children, I am happy to oblige.

Also, as with all of my monthly blog post themes (all…both of them), if you would like to contribute a post to the topic, I would love it. Leave me a comment here or email laneydodson at gmail dot com. Let us all be more determined to seek out the happy in this life.

About Allison Anarchy

I write because I have to
This entry was posted in animals. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

